fourteen, fifteen, and a warning

First, the warning.  Actually, it’s more of a “head’s up.”  I’ve been working on accepting certain people in my life as they are—i.e. the good and the bad, not just as I would want them to be.  There is an upcoming post (like, tomorrow) that deals with some of this.  Just letting you know so when you see a non-sequitur pop up, you’ll know what it’s all about.

Now back the previously scheduled blogging frivolity.

Day 14 – How do you typically dress to run errands? Do you think bloggers dress better or worse than “regular people”?

I really can’t speak to the second question…I’m not sure that “blogger” is a deep part of my identity…but I’m pretty sure I’m not “regular people” either. :)

I tend to not get too dressed up to run errands…I usually just go in whatever I’m wearing.  This means that if I go after work, I look decent, and if I go on a weekend morning, I go in whatever shlumpy clothes I wore to walk Miss Famous.

Day 15– What was your college experience like? Were you involved in any clubs, groups, etc? If you did not go to college what was your experience like after high school?

I was not very involved in campus stuff at college.  I definitely had a good time and had good friends, but it was more “unauthorized” fun than anything officially sanctioned. :)

I went on a 5-week exchange trip to Mexico the summer after my freshman year (I was a Spanish major).  I then got the language bug big time and knew I had to go back for a longer time if I would ever become fluent.  I entered college with a lot of credits from high school, so I was about a year ahead of schedule by the end of my sophomore year.  I then went back to Mexico (to a different, more urban city) for my junior year.  The first semester I did a program for foreign students, lived with a host family, and tried hard to not speak English with my classmates.  The second semester, another one of the students who lived with the same host family (she was from Peru) and I moved into an apartment and I switched to another school where I could take “regular” classes (i.e. not for foreign students).  This was a good move and I didn’t speak much English at all that second semester.

Getting to live in another country for a year was an amazing experience and I learned at least as much in that one year as I did in the other three years I was at college.

2 responses to “fourteen, fifteen, and a warning

  1. Roses Daughter

    I Wish that I had spent a year abroad in school! And I’m trying to get better about going out in public dressed properly!

  2. I graduated high school long enough ago that there were no foreign languages required for my graduating class. Yep, it’s been that long. I wish so much though that I had taken Spanish or knew more than my very basic and very poor limited Spanglish that I sort of get by with. I keep playing with the idea of taking a Spanish for health care workers class but can’t decide if I would learn enough to make the cost worth while.
    Spending a year abroad sounds fabulous. I’d love to do something like that.

Leave a Reply

