On avoiding my feelings

Through my journey of both IF and struggling with my compulsive eating, I have found that I have a million ways of pushing my feelings aside to the point that sometimes I’m not even aware that they’re there.  I’m only aware of the food, or that I feel fat, or, or, or…

Last night I had one of those experiences.  I had been feeling out of sorts all day, and pushing myself all day, and thinking of food all day, and eating all day.  When I finally got alone with my thoughts, it just all poured out.

This reminded me of something I just read (actually re-read) recently:

 

“There are some feelings about which there is nothing to do.  Some bad feelings simply need to be felt.  Only after you begin to feel them will you be able to find enough inner comfort to address them.”*

 

May we all find the inner comfort today to attend to these feelings that must be felt.

 

 

*From this book, of course.
10 responses to “On avoiding my feelings

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s funny how my depression really went spiralling down when I made a concerted effort to stop eating my feelings. It’s something that I’ve struggled with my whole life, but the periods of time where I’m not compulsively eating are longer now, so I guess I’m getting somewhere.

  2. Returning your visit to my bloghouse today! I feel you on your visit to your family. My sister got pregnant extremely easily, too (on B/C pills nonetheless). I always feel such mixed feelings with my family, threads of love and understanding interwoven with long-held childhood hurts and feelings of not being good enough. Ugh.

    You’re right though, sometimes pain just has to felt as pain…nothing really numbs it in the long run. Stinks.

    ICLW! (infertilityrocks.wordpress.com)

  3. Very well said, I can totally relate.

  4. Oh so true, and yet so difficult. I “broke free” (Geneen Roth version) many years ago, but then somehow got lost and have been on about a 10-year trip through the desert of compulsive eating. Making a really concerted effort lately to go back to what I know is a healthier way of dealing with my feelings, but it’s a constant struggle. Thanks for the reminder! (ICLW)

  5. It is amazing how we use food as a means to avoid the “ugly” in life: I know I do. Sometimes we do need to just listen to that still, small voice…more than we need the box of cookies.

    *hugs*

    ICLW

  6. It takes a lot of courage to put these honest feelings out there, and I believe that’s the first step to healing them. Kudos to you.

    I have been dealing with a lot of jealousy and ugly feelings lately, and my sister (wise woman that she is) told me to just feel it, let it wash over me, have it’s way and be done with it. Because what we resist, persists. It’s so true.

    (((HUGS))) as you deal with the not so pretty emotions.

    ICLW

  7. I can relate. Really relate.

  8. It took me a while to separate food and emotion. I learned emotional eating from my mother, and still emotionally eat from time to time.

    It is difficult to learn to deal with the “ugly” emotions. I have learned which ones are harder for me to deal with. (Rejection, hurt are two of them.) Journaling helps me vent, and I suspect my blog has taken the place of my journal.

    Good luck on your journey.

  9. Well stated. Don’t you find that when you stop trying to ignore the hurt and just face it, you can cry, scream, whatever, and then move on? I know I do. Thanks for this post. It hit home.
    By the way, you have an award at my blog. 🙂

  10. I needed that today.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

