on not giving the backstory yet

Lately I feel like that archetypal writer, typing away, ripping out the paper from the typewriter, and balling up another sheet.  I’ve got wads of paper around me on the floor and a serious case of writer’s block.

The thing is, when I’m not trying to tell my story, I’m telling it over and over in my head.  It’s just when I sit down to write it to tell all of you, it just won’t come.

I know it will eventually.  For now I’m just trying to learn to get used to my new reality, which may take a little while.  Thanks for being there in the meantime.

8 responses to “on not giving the backstory yet

  1. It’s your story. Tell it when you’re ready. New realities require some adjustment time.

  2. You’re right. It will eventually come. Wishing you peace in the meantime.

  3. I’ll be here whenever you’re ready to tell your story. Give yourself the time you need to process what you’ve just been through. In the meantime you can post about your awesome and cute dog!

  4. Take all the time you need. No hurry and no rush. Take lost of deep breaths and take care of YOU. We’ll be here whenever you’re ready.

  5. My heart goes out of you, I fled a verbally and emotionally abusive marriage years ago with only my cat. It took my years before I felt like “myself” again, I think I really just redefined who I was. Now I think it was a good thing, but it was excruciating at the time. Glad you are with family and hope they are able to be supportive.

    I love that you are referring to him as _______ – where was Harry when I was getting divorced?! Hang in there, and tell only as much as you want, when you want. Good luck.

  6. Of course! Take your time. Your life has been turned upside down. I can only imagine how the thoughts are racing around your brain.

  7. It’s no one’s business but your own. Take your time, readjust, and let us know if and when you’re ready!

  8. Take your time – we’re here to support you.
    *big hug*

Leave a Reply

