what I remembered today

The day before yesterday was pleasant.  Yesterday was very breezy and comfortable.

And then today rose up and held me in its chokehold, and I then remembered that healing does not travel as the crow flies, but in circles, in fits and spurts.  Healing wanders in the desert for forty years or so before fighting its way into a promised land that looks very different than the one we had previously imagined.

That was what today made me remember.

7 responses to “what I remembered today

  1. Wouldn’t it be nice if healing did travel as the crow flies? Or we could just think or say “I want to be free and fine” and then we would be. Even though it’s hard work, it is worth it.
    Thinking of you!
    *HUGS*

  2. It’s definitely a process, that’s for certain.

    I loved your perfect moment post – beautiful!

  3. It is a process. It would be so much easier if it was a matter of waking up one day and saying Yup, I’m all better now. But no we can wake up one day thinking that and then the next day have to revisit something we thought was left behind. Hugs to you and hoping for a better day tomorrow.

  4. Indeed, healing is a process. It takes time. One minute everything will be fine, and then you will be crushed. It can be unexpected, and certainly unfair, but that’s how healing goes. Over time, the good days will outnumber the bad. I’m glad you had a couple of good days in there.

  5. rosesdaughter

    I feel like I am repeating what everyone else is saying, but healing IS a process. SOmetimes long, sometimes short. Don’t rush it!

  6. Healing refuses to yield to a time-table or a time-frame…it will take a long time for things to normalize, but the changes are already in motion. When you get hunted down by sadness again, think of tomorrow…think that perhaps some gift lies ahead and you are not aware of it, just yet.

    I read your Perfect Monday post (right now)…and I loved it. I do not do this feature and really have not been reading it on other blogs as well, but I loved yours…I am happy about the mutual positivity that flows between your sister and bro-in-law. All the very best.

  7. Progress is good and precious, whenever and however it comes. Glad to hear you’re moving forward.

Leave a Reply

