Show and Tell: one from the vault

Please check out the rest of the class over at Mel’s.  This is the new, official time for S&T, so there hasn’t been a mixup, but I did have to see it on someone else’s blog to remember.  🙂

This has been a very intense week here.  For those who do not normally follow this blog, I finished up telling a pretty intense story (the big Great Escape story).  And Real Life had its own intensity going on, but that is a post for another day.

One thing I did this week was work on my resume.  I had hit some writer’s block, and was wandering around in my old documents for a while and found this prayer that meant a lot to me a long time ago.  The first couple of lines really hit me, especially after being so immersed in my story this week and especially with the direction (or lack of direction) that my life has right now–“I have no idea where I am going.  I do not see the road ahead of me.  I cannot know for certain where it will end.”

I don’t know what your conception of the Divine is.  Mine is certainly very different than when this prayer was so important to me that I saved an electronic copy of it.  Perhaps this prayer will mean something to you, also, whatever your understanding, whatever your path.

My Lord God,

I have no idea where I am going
I do not see the road ahead of me.
I cannot know for certain where it will end.

Nor do I really know myself,
And the fact that I think I am following
your will does not mean that I am
actually doing so.

But I believe that the desire to please
you does in fact please you.
And I hope that I have that desire in all
that I am doing.
And I know that if I do this, you
will lead me by the right road
though I may know nothing about it.

Therefore will I trust you always
though I may seem to be lost
and in the shadow of death, I will
not fear, for you are ever with me
and you will never leave me
to face my perils alone.

Thomas Merton

(Here’s the link.)

12 responses to “Show and Tell: one from the vault

  1. A lovely prayer. I think even those who do not believe strictly in a divine being (such as myself) can appreciate the message. It’s about accepting your limits and opening yourself up to the world around you. The things you can’t control.

    A good reminder for many of us.

  2. Very nice. I don’t believe in a “god” exactly but I do believe in something. I think that poem is nice for everyone.

  3. Beautiful poem….I think each of us have a different take on What God is and What role he has in our life….I hope that you continue to find solace in the poem, and that it provides you the strength to go on!

    Good Luck!

  4. I have a somewhat non-traditional (some might even call it confused or mish-mash) idea of religion and faith these days. And while I can see where this so easily fits with the religion that I grew up with as a child, I find it beautiful because it seems transcendent enough to fit with the faith and spirituality I find myself living with these days. Truly beautiful sentiments. Thank you so very much for sharing.

  5. What a beautiful prayer. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  6. This part : “I have no idea where I am going
    I do not see the road ahead of me.
    I cannot know for certain where it will end.” really got to me. I read it a few times and it’s so true. Thanks you for sharing it. It’s so beautiful.
    *HUGS*

  7. Gorgeous prayer…thank you so much for sharing it. If you don’t mind, I am going to copy it to my own documents so I can reflect on it. (((HUGS))) to you as you travel your road.

  8. This is just beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing. I went back and read The Great Saga and I am in awe- sheer awe- of your strength and spirit. I’ll definitely be bookmarking this post and prayer for inspiration and guidance as I need it on my own journey, and I hope it continues to provide you guidance and hope along yours. I hope you have a wonderful Shabbos this week.
    ~Miriam

  9. Wow. That prayer just gave me pause. Especially this line: “And I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing.” I love the humility in not knowing.

  10. I love the first paragraph. It is true for me right now on so many levels.

    I’ve just finished the last part of your retelling of leaving. I am so glad you got out of there. The more you tell, the more scary the situation seems. I hope you are healing and enjoying your newfound freedom.

  11. What a beautiful prayer. It reminds me of a John Denver song that I love, “Sweet Surrender.”

    Thanks so much for your comment today. You grasped a depth of the place that I hadn’t even articulated. I feel like you “get” me.

    Namaste, my friend.

  12. Beautiful. Thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

