Perfect Moment Monday: auto-realization

Last week I went on a road trip and had a bit of car trouble.  It turned out not to be anything major, and nothing was harmed except my schedule (and my sleep), but there was a bit of stress for a while when I didn’t know if it was going to turn out to be something major (i.e. expensive and time consuming).

It wasn’t until the day after I got back home (much later in the night than I had originally intended), than the thought struck me:  not once during all of the car-drama did I have the thought, “Boy I wish X were here.”  Not once.  At no point did I even feel like something was going to happen and I wouldn’t be able to handle it.  The biggest stress was inconvenience and expense.  Even if I had broken down by the side of the road, I know I could have handled it.  During this car “crisis” I had no moment of wanting him around to rescue me*, I was just fine with the help that came my way on my own.

And that was perfect.

*In fact, if he had been there, things would likely have been much more stressful, as I would have been not only having to worry about the car, but his moods as well.

14 responses to “Perfect Moment Monday: auto-realization

  1. What a brilliant and powerful realization! You are really coming into your own. How great that you are reclaiming your power AND that you are aware of it!

  2. Progress! Definitely, progress. 🙂

  3. What a great realization. How freeing.

  4. That’s such an empowering moment… when you realize that you CAN do it on your own. Good for you!

    ~ICLW

  5. That is wonderful! Slowly but surely you are getting stronger and thriving.

  6. rosesdaughter

    Great! You are making so much progress!!

  7. That’s terrific. You sure did lose a lot of dead weight!

  8. Dead weight is right! Good for you!

  9. It sounds like you are becoming an even stronger woman! Congrats!
    ~Michelle (ICLW)

  10. How amazing! I’m so happy for you, I truly am! I can’t believe, well YES I can, that you have come SO far in such a short amount of time. It just show how ready you were to become YOU!
    *HUGS*

  11. Perfect moment! What a wonderful realization :-).

  12. Good for you! We should all realize we do not need to be “rescued” but have faith in ourselves.
    Happy ICLW

  13. It’s a real turning point when you realize you CAN do things without a man’s help. I had a similar experience years ago when I finally broke up with my very manipulative first serious boyfriend and subsequently installed my own blinds. 🙂

    ICLW

  14. That is great progress! You don’t need Mr. X at all! I’m sorry you had car troubles though.

Leave a Reply

