how to be a jerk

So I saw this bit in my reader this morning…I went ahead and followed the link they are criticizing and went through the top ten list.  It’s pretty terrible and most of them were very familiar to me (though X never bought me a yoga class membership).  Many people in the comments (on the Shapely Prose site, NOT the AskMen site) note how these “suggestions” are the how to’s of emotional abuse.  So not so funny to me.  One commenter stated that the list could be renamed, “Top 10 Subtle ways to Emotionally Abuse Her.”

The whole experience was pretty triggering for me, and I am constantly astounded that shit like this is even out there.  But, of course, it is.  The sad thing is, most of the guys doing this shit don’t really need these tips, now, do they?  I know it just seemed to be second-nature to Mr. X.  He sure as shit didn’t need to read any “how to” list in on the internet.

So glad I’m on the other side of it.

5 responses to “how to be a jerk

  1. ew – Gross top 10! What a dumb ass website. No wonder most men are idiots if that’s the shit they’re reading. 🙂

  2. I am truly horrified by that article…omg!

  3. I too am completely appalled by the article. What asses. If a guy did any of that to me I’d tell him not to let the door hit him on the way out. It’s true that prejudice about weight is one of the last socially acceptable prejudices. I’ve a coworker who must have read this. She’s used some of these.

  4. I actually quit reading Shapely Prose because it depressed me. It has really made me aware of all the fat hatred out there (as if I didn’t already experience it on a daily basis). That said, wow. I guess I just don’t understand how you could ever even consider treating someone you supposedly love that way. It’s frightening how our society encourages cruelty and abuse.

  5. I don’t read that blog you linked to, and I managed to go to the Top 10 bullshit too…and I think they can just hang it out to dry! Pathetic!

Leave a Reply

