show and tell: by order of the court

If I were to write a tagline for this post it would be: “The first piece of mail I was delighted to receive from my attorney.” Yay 🙂

It’s show and tell time, and when I got this particular item in the mail, one of the first things I thought was, “I have to show and tell this!”

I believe I have mentioned on this blog before that my soon-to-be ex-husband Mr. X emptied out our savings account just before I made my Great Escape.  I don’t know if I mentioned that the court agreed that he needed to return half of it.  Well, the whole court involvement in the money matter has been a long, drawn-out affair.  Apparently the judge all but signed the order for X to turn in half of the funds to the court, and I don’t really understand all of the legal back-and-forth.  The most recent roadblock was due to more shenanigans by X (totally not worth getting into here–he is really getting tedious).

Finally, finally, finally, I got the call from my attorney that the judge signed the order!  And then last Friday I got a copy of it in the mail!  So, here for your perusal is the very court order (somewhat altered to protect the innocent and the assholes alike):

In case you couldn’t read it so clearly…*

and:

A word of explanation:  I don’t expect to actually get this money.  Even if X pays this money to the court (which is a huge “if”), it will likely go to the mortgage company and/or my attorney (if there’s anything left, that is).  I’m just glad to have something lining up on my side.  As my friend, Cherry, put it, this court order means “Reality 1, X 0.”

Yay. 🙂

See who else is enjoying their mail and showing it off over at Mel’s.

*If you can’t see the photos, it reads: In the circuit court of [Small Pond] County, [Some State]

[Quiet Dreams] Plaintiff  vs. [Mr. X]

ORDER

This cause came on to be heard upon Plaintiff’s Mothion for Bank Funds to be Paid Into Court, upon the agreement of the parties and with the approval of the Court, It is hereby ORDERED that Defendant [Mr. X], shall pay into Court, the sum of $[a ridiculous amount that we saved up for IVF] representing one-half of the funds withdrawn from the parties account with HSBC.  Said funds are to be held by the Court until further order.  Enter this 7th Day of August, 2009.

31 responses to “show and tell: by order of the court

  1. I LOVE this. To.m R.id.d.le – Ha, he. That is just about the best villan nickname ever.

    Seriously though. You deserve a little one uping right about now.

  2. Yay! Three cheers for the courts getting it right! And for X getting a portion of what he deserves!

  3. You go girl…….glad to know that this is finally falling into place! Hang in there!

  4. Congratulations! Isn’t it wonderful when it feels like things are actually moving forward?! So happy for you.

  5. Woo Hoo! Happy times are here again. Enjoy the winning tide.

  6. Who knew that “Tom D*ck” would require such a long black bar?

    🙂

  7. It’s nice to know you’re in the right in the eyes of the law! Good luck on collecting!

  8. Whooohooo!!! So glad that the order finally came through and hopefully X will realize he can no longer keep up his BS.

  9. Good for you! I love your edits to the docs!

  10. good for you! I DO hope you get to see this money, but at least you can feel justified in the meantime that this will hang over him.

  11. COngratulations!!! Continue persevering in a tough situation!

  12. Wooohoooooo…it’s about damned time!

  13. Woo hoo!!!! Congrats on finally getting the order.

  14. How awesome! Take that, my friend—reality will come back to bite you in the ass!

    I’m sorry you even had to go through that in the first place, though…

  15. awesome. That is such a big thing girl. I am happy that you are finally able to get that part settled. It does suck that that money will never be liquid again- having to go to mortgage, lawyer fees, etc….but it is good to have that paper saying you are vindicated!!!!

    WOOOO HOOOOOO!

  16. Awesome…

    If Mr. X does not cough up, will the court force him to?

  17. Yay!! What good news :-).

  18. Excellent! There is some justice after all!

    oursomedayfamily.blogspot.com

  19. That’s great news!

  20. YAY!!! I’m high fiving you in my head!

  21. WOOOHOOOO!!!!! Good for you!

    AHAHAHA I love his middle name!
    *HUGS*

  22. I mean no disrespect here, but he must have been a complete and total asshole. I’m so glad you made the great escape – what a brave and amazing thing you did for yourself. Way to go!

  23. Congratulations and I hope you’re enjoying your new life/clean slate, may you love yourself fully and one day find TRUE love if you heart so desires.

    ICLOW

  24. That of course should read ICLW

  25. Congratulations! I hate it when people who divorce feel like they have to be such @holes and play so unfairly. Its awesome the court ruled in your favor. I hope you see the money soon.

  26. Congrats on the paperwork! Glad to see the world isn’t ruled by assholes. I love the whole Mr. X thing! So glad you were able to escape to freedom.

  27. Good work, attorney. Good work, judge. Hooray, you!

    Screw you, X.

    Happy ICLW!

  28. I am so glad to read this. Way to go!!

Leave a Reply

