this is why I shouldn’t go to Vegas…

So just a couple hours after I posted yesterday, I got the mail.  Guess what was in it?

Tired of guessing yet?

More mail from Biff, the super-lawyer.

Good thing I didn’t offer to bet double-or-nothing his fees on X’s not turning the money in (recap: he emptied the savings, the court said turn in half of what you took), because apparently late last week the court received a check from Mr. X for the exact amount.  I guess he didn’t want to have to avoid showing up in our former state of residence out of fear of avoiding jailtime, after all.

I underestimated him.  As usual.

I am reeling.  It’s like whiplash with this guy.  Like my mom says, he didn’t turn it in out of the goodness of his heart, more out of self-preservation, but still.  I am reeling.

I guess the mortgage company will be happy, at least.

And maybe, maybe my credit won’t take such a hit?  I still don’t have access to the money (in case you were wondering), but I’m really glad that he doesn’t, either.

And I really need to avoid that city in Nevada like the plague.

11 responses to “this is why I shouldn’t go to Vegas…

  1. Well, good, at least you’re getting what’s yours. And it’s my understanding that credit companies are somewhat understanding if you explain that you’re going through a divorce and that’s what’s happening to the money. I don’t know. Maybe they’d be willing to work with you? I still think we should teach Miss Famous to attack.

  2. That’s great!!! Sometimes it’s good to be wrong!

  3. No matter the reason, I’m glad Biff was right on this!

  4. WOW! Underestimated him indeed! Not only you but ALL of us who said double or nothing.

    I hope the check gets to you and you can save some of your credit. I hope you have a good day and this turn of events doesn’t mess with your head or heart.
    *HUGS*

  5. Wooohoooooo…at least he did the right thing even if he did it for the completely wrong reasons!

  6. This is one of the few times that it’s good to be wrong!!!!

  7. So happy you got what is owed to you.

    *ICLW*

  8. Oh that’s wonderful!

  9. Wow. That’s great. Especially if it helps salvage your credit some.

  10. I’m glad he did the right thing, even if it wasn’t for altruistic reasons. And I hope it does help with your credit – I’m learning firsthand how credit issues can screw ya.

  11. Wow! That’s outstanding!

    I guess there is something to be said for the power of self preservation! Glad you got your money… it’s another step on your road.

Leave a Reply

