show and tell: starting my collection

Show and Tell Chalkboard 2See who else is showing-and-telling over at Mel’s.  Go on, you know you want to.

Ever since the year I lived in Isra.el with Mr. X, I have had somewhat of a thing for the hamsa.  I discovered the hamsa there, and ever since have kind of wanted to have some in my home, but it just never really happened.  (I did have one hamsa necklace before, but it was a gift from you-know-who, and it was Spring Cleaned before I made my big escape.)

Lately, I have started to buy presents for myself.  One of the first presents I got myself is the necklace in the photo below.  Believe it or not, I got it at Ko.hl’s department store, for a very reasonable price, as it was on clearance.  I wear it all the time.IMG_1293

The other two in the photo, I just bought myself this week, in a funky little shop I discovered while I was spending some time before meeting a friend.  Originally, I was going to give one away, but I decided that I will keep them both and they will be the start of my collection.  The wooden one is made of cedar, and the other is made of bone.

The hamsa is an ancient symbol, predating both Judaism and Islam, though it is a symbol of both religions.  The five fingers of the hand can have many meanings: among them the five books of Torah, the five pillars of Islam.  It is also commonly known as the hand of Fatima (to Muslims), but also as the hand of Miriam (to Jews).  From the Wikipedia entry

Hamsa prayer

Let no sadness come through this gate,
Let no trouble come to these walls,
Let no conflict be in this place,
Let this home be filled with the blessing of joy and peace.

18 responses to “show and tell: starting my collection

  1. I love the prayer…I think I need one of those for my house.

  2. Beautiful both in their appearance and symbolism

  3. I love yours–the dark wood one is gorgeous. I have to take a picture of the one over our bed. It’s metal with a little blue druze bead. I love them too.

  4. Oh, those are so nice! I love them. I always loved the hamsa symbol too.

  5. that reminds me I have to buy a hamsa print from Mike and Mike. Love the prayer even if I am not religious.

  6. I really like the hamsa and the prayer. Thanks for showing and telling! 🙂

  7. Very interesting. It looks a little similar to the healing hand symbol. I like the prayer too. Thanks for sharing.

  8. I never knew the story behind these. Thank you!

  9. I love that prayer and the start of your collection is beautiful.

  10. Great hamsas. I have a hamsa on a necklace, but it is wearing out. I need to get a new one. I love how they are supposed to give protection and good luck.

  11. What a beautiful way to start your collection. All of those are simple and so pretty. Most importantly you bought them for YOU.
    *HUGS*

  12. I love that prayer too and I will be on the lookout for this hamsa.

  13. beautiful prayer and beautiful pieces. the desire in these words transcends all ideologies. thank you for sharing.

  14. Those are very pretty! I’ve never heard of them before. Thanks for introducing me to them!

  15. that’s a lovely prayer – we could all do with such a prayer. And I do like that little hamsa on the necklace – very delicate and pretty.

  16. P.S. please could you let me know that you have had my comment? WordPress really doesn’t seem to like me!! 😦

  17. Really beautiful…both the pieces and the prayer. Thanks for sharing!

  18. Beautiful. I love the prayer and the symbolism. Thank you for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

