shaking like a leaf again

I wonder why?  Let’s see…

Monday I mailed my engagement ring off to my ex-father-in-law (it was his mother’s)*.

Tuesday I signed the divorce decree.

Wednesday I found out officially (per my realtor there was a notice in the paper–so I don’t have to take X’s word for it) that my house is in foreclosure.

I hope nothing happens today.

*

*

*

*Yes, the same ring that he told me to send him a few months ago.  NOW was the appropriate time.  And it was totally my decision to agree to do this now; the mediation agreement wasn’t contingent on it.  I don’t want the ring at all and am glad it is out of my house.  I actually laughed when the mediator came and asked me about it.  My attorney told me, “You don’t have to do it.”  I truly didn’t care at the time, and so I agreed.
10 responses to “shaking like a leaf again

  1. You know what the upside to foreclosure is? You don’t have to worry about the process of selling the place. No cleaning, straightening, worrying about people coming in and taking your stuff…

    Now, you may certainly be liable for the difference between the bank’s sale price and the balance of the mortgage, but I ‘d say you could make a case that it’s all X’s responsibility, since he absconded with the bank accounts. But, either way, even if you have to declare bankruptcy, or just rent for the next 10 years, it will still be worth it for your peace of mind.

    Although, I would have sold the engagement ring to offset the mortgage liability…because I’m nice like that.

  2. The ring.. glad that now you are in a place and that it’s totally your decision.
    Hope today’s going to be calm and relaxing :).

  3. What will happen today: You’ll breathe in and out, put one foot in front of another and go on living this wonderful new life that you have created. You are strong and can handle anything that comes your way. Hugs!

  4. Hoping for you that today is a totally uneventful, calm day. I’m so sorry about the house. I can imagine that is stressful. Hugs to you.

  5. I’m so sorry about your house! But hopefully, today will be perfectly uneventful!

  6. Sending the ring back in your time is a nice thing! Plus it’s out of your house!

    Sorry about the house, hon. I agree with a, I think you might be able to get X to pay for the costs.

    I’ll be hoping the rest of your day goes smoothly!
    *HUGS*

  7. I am sending good thoughts your way! One thing that will happen- the sun will come up again tomorrow..you just have to make it! Good luck girl. {{{HUGS}}}

  8. Snip, snip.

    Cutting the last remaining ties that bind.

  9. Do you have a reiki or massage school in your area? I think you need to treat yourself. For every stomach flip flop, every sniff of the mess you left behind – you need to treat yourself like the treasure you are!

  10. (*hugs*) Sending good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

