show and tell: my little girl

Show and Tell Chalkboard 2

See what everyone else is showing and telling over at Mel’s.

When I traveled out of state recently to go to my divorce mediation, I had a little secret in my pocket:IMG_0054

This is a picture of me at about years old set in a charm for a necklace.  Here’s a bigger shot of the same photo:IMG_0070 - Copy

I did some inner child work with my old therapist, and way back then she suggested carrying a small photo of myself as a child as part of that work.

I see this little girl as the true me, the me before I started believing that I was less-than, before I started carrying the weight of the world on my shoulders.

The true me is pretty strong, though.  She knows how to love others and herself.  She knows what she needs.  I just have to listen to her.

And not let her ever hear that she is less-than.

21 responses to “show and tell: my little girl

  1. I think that little girl has grown up to be a beautiful woman.

  2. What a great way to remind yourself of who you were and what you can still be.

  3. That is a nice idea. You are such a cute little girl!

  4. You are so gorgeous! You take care of that little girl. She’s worth it.

  5. Very cute! You left out how old you were. It’s true. We could probably all benefit from weeding out al that has happened to us in life and remember our dreams of childhood.

  6. Beautiful — I love this. What a great idea. Always remember how strong you are.

  7. You know. You have a very strong voice. You do not sound less-than in any way to me.

    You have a vulnerability, but it’s really an openness. And THAT, the willingess to be THAT, is very powerful.

    How wise to carry around a pic of your inner child. Your innocence and innate wisdom.

  8. Not only is it a gorgeous picture, but it’s a brilliant idea. I hope it brought you strength.

  9. I love the strength you drew from the true you. Beautiful post.

  10. What a wonderful idea! I hope it helps give you support. That is such a freakin’ cute picture! I love it.

  11. What a fantastic picture and a great idea. I hope it helped you feel stronger that day and any days in the future.

  12. What a great idea and what an adorable picture!

  13. What a great idea from your therapist. You were such a cute kid.

    And yes, that image WILL help you…will remind you of what you were….will help you to come back to yourself.

  14. What a beautiful idea! I think its very important to remind yourself of your true worth after all you’ve gone through. That is an adorable picture, btw 😀

  15. This is so beautiful and powerful. What a fantastic idea. Also, I’m pretty sure I had the same dress as a young child 🙂
    ~Miriam

  16. This is an awesome idea! You are super cute!

  17. I think we should all carry a picture of ourselves as children – that way we could remember to love and protect and cherish ourselves.

  18. Love the picture — & what a great idea!

    I have an award for you on my blog. : ) I enjoy reading yours very much!

  19. Wow. That’s a powerful idea. I wish you much luck!

  20. What a lovely picture and a great idea! A constnat reminder of the true you :-).

  21. Cute picture. Great idea to remember who you really are.

Leave a Reply

