show and tell: they say the darndest things…

Check out who else is showing and telling over at Mel’s.

Children shown and discussed.

My third niece, let’s call her Chloe, is three-years-old and has a thing about breastfeeding.  She loves it.  She thinks everyone (well, women, I guess) should do it.

I took the picture below, and showed it (without the head cut off) to my sister (Chloe’s mom).

My sister was surprised, as she hadn’t seen Chloe do this before.  (In case you can’t tell, Chloe is “nursing” her baby fox.)  What she had seen her do was pretend to pump.  Yes, Chloe would pretend to pump her breastmilk.  I guess in case she has to go out to play during fox’s regular feeding time, or something.  My sister also told me that she has had to have a number of “talks” with Chloe about how some women breastfeed and that’s okay, and some women give their babies bottles, and that’s okay, too.  Apparently, Chloe is quite the breastfeeding evangelist.

So, that’s Chloe.  I ran across this photo recently, and it reminded me of my favorite Chloe story, which, coincidentally, also has to do with breastfeeding.  A few months ago we were all at my mom’s house, and the breastfeeding pillow was on the couch, where I was going to sit next to Miss Chloe (my sis has a younger daughter, whom she was breastfeeding at the time, hence the pillow and the breastfeeding preoccupation by Chloe).  I moved the pillow to sit down, and put it on my lap.  Chloe looked up at me and asked, “Are you going to nurse?”

“No,” I said, somewhat taken aback.

“Why aren’t you going to nurse?” she asked.

“Well, I don’t have a baby,” I said (hoping she wouldn’t suggest that I could borrow her baby sister).

“But you have breasts!”

I guess she thinks I should be putting them to good use.  I think she may have a future with La Leche League.

P.S.  If you have time, could you help me decide on what I should post to Creme de la Creme?  I have narrowed it down to a few posts here.

12 responses to “show and tell: they say the darndest things…

  1. Kids….!! As a pre-schooler, my SIL’s niece used to fix her huge brown eyes on me at family gatherings & ask (loudly, in front of everyone)(and on more than one occasion), “And where’s YOUR baby??” I can remember saying, “I don’t have a baby,” followed, of course, by the inevitable “Why??” We hadn’t even started ttc at that point, but I could ahve cheerfully strangled her at that moment.

  2. I saw a lady once breastfeed her 4 year old. Now I know that happens, but watching a 4 year old with a full set of teeth talking baby talk and breastfeeding totally creeped me out.

  3. Your niece is hilarious! I remember my mom getting her undies in a bunch when my little sister would play at breastfeeding.

    In regards to your Creme post… I was torn between the one on ownership and the one on pins and needles.

  4. That is major funny!

  5. What a cute response from Chloe.

  6. That is too funny, what a little sweetie!

  7. She’s so cute! BFing evangelist indeed – what are those breasts for anyway?!

  8. Too cute! At least she’ll never have to decide one way or the other 😀

  9. That’s so cute. Good for her! I hope she keeps that view-point as she grows up.

  10. That is so funny. The things kids come up with are ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

