Oh, yeah, I forgot to mention this…

I have a date for when the divorce will be final.  I don’t know why it’s taken so long; my attorney led me to believe that it all could be done within a couple of weeks.  The date the judge will sign the divorce decree is December 15, almost two months after the mediation.  I’m mostly looking forward to changing my name.  Right now I’m going by both my married name, and my maiden name (depending on context), so I usually have to think a moment before I say my full name.

In case you were wondering, I’m really looking forward to this being DONE.

ETA:  I won’t have to be there.  I get to talk to the judge on the phone, first thing in the morning.  Just me, not X.

8 responses to “Oh, yeah, I forgot to mention this…

  1. I’ve heard it can take as little as 30 days when there aren’t children involved, but I’ve also heard it depends on the judge and how complicated the participants want to make it. I’m just glad there’s a light at the end of the tunnel for you! I hope you run into a hot lawyer on your way out of the courtroom!

  2. Glad you won’t have to go back for more…a phone conversation sounds like a much better ending.

  3. Glad that it will all be final and over soon and also that you don’t have to travel back there and deal with X again. 10 more days till a new beginning.

  4. I remember when my divorce date was set. Even though I was the one who had asked for the divorce, it was a bittersweet time, a mixture of emotions.

    I just passed the seven year anniversary of my divorce being final. As difficult as it was, it is one of the best things I ever did.

    Interestingly enough, I met my dear hubby one year to the day, after that divorce date.

    I’ll be thinking of you as you go through these next ten days.

  5. I am so glad it is almost all over. {{{Hugs}}} and congrats my friend.

  6. I’m glad you are able to have a phone conversation with the judge. You are so close! I’m so very proud of you for handling everything with such grace.
    *HUGS*

  7. I’m glad it’s almost done and that you don’t have to be there. I loved the video of your dog running around the apartment.

  8. That ‘s great! And very nice that you won’t have to be there and meet X.

Leave a Reply

