happy blogoversary to us

I first blog-posted one year ago today.  My first post in its entirety was:

For quite a while now I have considered blogging as a means to deal with what is happening in my life right now.  And what is happening?  Oh, not much, just:

Infertility.

Career in the crapper.

Marital stress (which seems to be improving).

Public role as the “lovely wife of…”

Upcoming move  to who knows where.

etc.

So, this is the start.  Stay tuned.

Wow.  If the person who wrote those words had any idea what the next year would hold, she might have just hid under the covers instead of blogging.

I’m glad she didn’t.

My whole world back then had a totally different center, a totally different focus.  I did make a move to “who knows where,” but not because of X’s job.  That I thought my “marital stress” was improving just makes me laugh an ironic little laugh now.  I have no public role now and obviously am no longer the “lovely wife” of anyone.

There’s another one, though, that still seems like it’s a huge part of me, of who I am.

Infertility.  The identity you can never quite shed.

I’ve talked before about how I have infertility to thank (and I mean that without snark) for waking me up to the reality of my own life.  That’s not what I want to say today.

I started blogging because the pain of infertility (co-existing with the loneliness in my marriage) had me incredibly desperate to connect with someone, anyone who understood what I was going through.

I didn’t just connect with “someone,” I found a community.  I found friends.

Thank you, friends, for seeing me through this year, quite certainly the hardest year I have lived so far.  Thank you, friends, for being a bright spot in my day, especially on those days when you were the only bright spot.  Thank you, friends, for believing in me, encouraging me, and talking trash about my ex.  And more.  So very much more you have all done for me.

So this blogoversary is not just mine.  It’s ours.  Congratulations to you all for being amazing.

Here’s to many more years together.

23 responses to “happy blogoversary to us

  1. Congratulations sweetie!

  2. Happy Blogoversary. I am so glad you didn’t avoid blogging because that would have deprived me of the chance to make a wonderful friend.

  3. Happy Blogoversary!

  4. Thinking of you today. I am so proud of the woman I have seen you becoming this last year (god, that sounds trite). But, its so true. You are brave, and smart, and sassy, and I wish that we had met in “real” life because we would SO be friends.

    Hoping that the next year brings more changes, but of the good variety.

    Hugs,
    Jo

  5. Happy Blogoversary! It has been a year indeed. Here’s to many more. I hear you on finding a Community. I’ve been an active part of the ALI Community for 14 months now, even though I’ve been blogging for years.

    Cheers to finding your voice. I look forward to following your journey.

  6. I’m glad she didn’t just hide under the covers too. It’s been a pleasure getting to “know” you and I hope you’re around for a good while to come where ever life may lead you. Happy Blogoversary.

  7. Awwww that’s so sweet! you are SO sweet! Happy blogoversary, love! Here’s to many more together, yes!
    *HUGS*

  8. So glad you began blogging!

    Happy blogoversary to you!

  9. I have only recently begun to follow your blog, but it sounds like blogging made it so much easier because you could write out your feelings, talk about what was happening, and gain support and friendships along the way.

    Isn’t that one of the BEST things about blogging?

    Happy Blogoversary!

  10. Happy blogaversay :-).

  11. The blogging community is wonderful for creating a sense of belonging and understanding when you feel so alone. Happy blogaversary and best wishes for a wonderful year ahead, may it be full of good things and may the bad things be limited.

  12. Hi,
    I just discovered your blog today, so I didn’t have the privilege of being one of the friends who helped you through. But I do want to say that you seem to have survived it with grace and, as you say, without snark. That is not at all common these days. People tend to get bitter and mean. I did – for a long, long time. So congratulations and happy blogoversary; you made it through and added to your cache of friends (which is one of the greatest treasures anyone can have).

  13. NEVER GIVE UP.

    My late, great FIL told my DH this and he passed it along to me.

    When times get rough I always go back to it, and my faith.

    “When the clouds are dark and storming behind them is always bright sky”

    We never know what “The Plan” is, and it’s a good thing (for if we did, it would be too scary for us to handle, I think).

    Just know that, in my life and at my old age, “The Plan” always works for the good. Always. Even with loss, suffering, pain. It just does.

    Hugs and so happy to have “met you” through ICLW.

  14. Happy Blogoversary and ICLW! I’ve met some really great supporters through the blog world. And when you’re dealing with IF, no one understands like someone who is or has been there. Some people don’t have anyone else in their daily everyday interactions to share that with. Nice to have “met” you.

  15. Happy Blogoversary! I’m glad you found blogging. I know that for me, it is my outlet o release stress, fears, etc…Here’s to many more years of blogging!

    ICLW

  16. Happy Blogoversary!

    I hope this year brings you happiness.

  17. Happy Blogoversary! I’m really glad you started blogging. I only began blogging about IF a few months ago, but your blog is one of the first I discovered and, although I usually lurk, I love coming by to see what you’re up to. And Miss Famous makes my day 😀

    ~ICLW~

  18. Awwwwwwwww Happy Blogoversary to you!! I hope that you find that the next year will be uplifting for you 🙂

    I know that when I got a divorce from my ex-husband (not to be confused with my current one) … I didn’t realize EXACTLY how bad my marriage was and often wondered why I stuck it out in a bad marriage through all that I put up with. I had a 1,000lb weight lifted off of me when we separated and loved every moment of “dating” … since I never really did it before getting married. And then, when I figured no one would want a used woman who had more miscarriages then anything, with two kids, who are high maintenance… I met HIM. 😀

    You never know what is right around the corner…

    Happy ICLW 🙂

  19. Here from ICLW.

    Congrats on your blogoversary! Kudos to you for the changes you’ve made this year. Best wishes for a happy 2010.

  20. congratulations for making it through such a hard year!!

    you are a strong woman, hugs!!!

  21. Happy Blogoversary!

    Sending you hugs and peace,

    Sonja
    ~ICLW

  22. Happy Blogoversary and Congratulations on finding yourself again! It’s been a long haul, and I bet you there were times when you thought you would break -but you didn’t. You fought for your life, your sanity and your freedom. You, my dear, have so much happiness ahead of you!

  23. Happy belated blogoversary! I so enjoy reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

