show and tell: happy something to me

Join the rest of the class for show and tell over at Mel’s.

So I signed myself up for a couple of photography classes starting in January.  The catch?  I needed to get a digital SLR camera for them.  This was a major present to myself.  I was actually signed up for a beginner’s photography class back in the city I used to live with Mr. X, but a little thing called leaving my abusive husband and moving out of state prevented me from participating in the class.

So, I finally started feeling like I had the energy for a once a week commitment, and I’ve wanted a “good” camera for a while.  Signing up for the dSLR introductory class gave me the kick in the butt necessary to spend the money on the camera.

So, the timing being what it is, this could be seen as a divorce present to myself, a New Year’s present, a belated Chanukah present, or an early birthday present.  Whatever.  I’m just glad that I’m willing to do such a nice thing for myself.  This is something that likely never would have happened if I had stayed married to you-know-who.

Now, I’ll actually take a picture with it after the battery charges and I can figure out what the hell I’m doing with this crazy thing.  For now, I’m just admiring how pretty it looks.

9 responses to “show and tell: happy something to me

  1. Oooooh, I am jealous. That is a dream camera of mine. I’m glad you gave yourself such a wonderful present. BTW, I wish you had been one of the 15+ at my house for the holidays too.

  2. I can hardly wait to see what you pull out of this.

    It’s going to be like a present for all of us!

  3. Whooohoooo!!! Yay for such a nice camera. I bought myself a nice camera a couple of years ago and I love it. I probably should take a class though because I know it will do more than I’ve figured out how to do with it. Have fun with your camera and your class.

  4. Ooooh! Very nice.

    Your fancy camera kind of makes me feel ashamed for using my phone as my camera. I’m going to have to find my battery charger and break out the real camera soon. 🙂

  5. Oh boy, it’s a beast ! Hehe. It’s a very nice present, I hope you have fun !

  6. I like!! Have fun with it!

  7. I am so jealous. I hope you really enjoy your class. You deserve it.

  8. That is a serious camera have fun with and enjoy your classes.

  9. Whatever you call it, it is a majorly awesome gift! I got my SLR about a month ago after futsing around with my slowly-dying digital for a year, then losing it (totally by accident of course).

    I am in loooooooovvvveee with it. The sports feature. The landscape function. The close ups — you HAVE to try the close ups.

    Ok, now go have fun with your new toy!!

Leave a Reply

