goodbye 2009

I have a lot of mixed feelings about 2009.  Don’t get me wrong, I am so happy to flip that calendar page over and start anew with 2010, but I am definitely happy that I went through this past year.  And I am happy it’s over.

2009 is not a road I wish to travel again, but I am glad I made the journey.

At the beginning of 2009, I had just started blogging.  I received my first comment on my new year’s post.  I didn’t really know who any of you other bloggers were, and I had no idea how much I would rely on your support throughout the coming year.

2009 saw the final spiraling down of my marriage.  It saw my realizing the extent of the problems with Mr. X.  It saw me decide to leave him, and then leave—the most difficult decision of my life, and the best thing I have ever done for myself.

This last year saw me pass through incredible grief.  It saw me through the most painful and demanding process I’ve ever gone through—my divorce.  At the end of 2009, I am left with only two vestiges of my connections to X—I am waiting on my Jewish divorce, the get, and I am trying to separate out my debt from his with the mortgage company we owe money to after the foreclosure.

I feel incredibly hopeful about the year to come.  I am getting stronger all the time and feeling more like the me I think I was meant to be.

If this last year has taught me anything, it is that we really don’t know what may be around the corner.  What I am planning for, however, for the coming year is:

  • taking two photography classes, starting in January and March,
  • going to visit my dear friends in the Netherlands in April/May,
  • starting therapy (as soon as my new insurance kicks in and I find a good therapist).

It will be amazing to see where I am a year from now.  It will be incredible to see the positive changes that this next year will usher in.

Bring it on.

7 responses to “goodbye 2009

  1. Even though it’s been a turbulent year for you, I’m glad you are looking firmly & positively forward!

  2. I think, as a general rule, we all need to kick the door firmly shut on 2009 and not re-open it. Forward (and positive) thinking only from here on out.

  3. You’ve been through so much and have grown so much. I’m glad I found your friendship! Happy New Year!

  4. May you be sitting here, one year from now, looking back at 2010 and seeing that 2009 was setting the stage for some wonderful unfoldings for you.

    Thank you for your kind comments on my blog. I’ve so appreciated your “Quiet Voice”.

  5. Great post. It’s so true that even some of the crappy stuff that happens still can have great purpose in our lives. May 2010 be so much better for you.

  6. Well, wanting 2010 to bring you a lot of peace and accomplishment…and freedom from the financial debt….Take Care!

  7. Congratulations on both the accomplishment and the new beginning. Wishing you the very best for 2010!

Leave a Reply

