cake day

Because my birthday falls so close to the beginning of the calendar year, all of the new year’s introspection and resolutions and all that seems to get conflated with my thoughts about adding another notch to my birthday belt.  Thirty-three as of today.

Last year’s birthday post was called “Can I Have a Do-Over?”  That should tell you something about the space I was in at the time.

Well, I don’t think I want a do-over this year.  Though my whole life was turned upside down and then some last year, and though there are a few things that are up in the air right now, I’m much happier with where I am than I was a year ago.  And that’s really saying something (what with the trashed credit, the loads of debt, and the grief that still pops up and hits me pretty often).

Right now I feel like I am on the verge of some amazing things in my life.  Where I am now is so much better than where I was when I turned thirty-two.  I have a lot less money in my bank account than I did last year,  but I don’t have to justify my spending to anyone.  I live in a much smaller space than I did a year ago, but I love, love, love coming home to it, and when I’m there, I’m not walking on eggshells for anyone.  Things feel a bit up in the air about my job at the moment, but I have a certainty that things will be OK, and whatever future I walk into, I won’t be chained to someone who holds me in contempt unless I kowtow to his every whim.

I am excited about what this year—my first full year of freedom—has in store.  Happy birthday to me.

20 responses to “cake day

  1. Happy Happy Birthday!

  2. Wishing you a super birthday!

    Also read through your last post….well, it is disconcerting that you may lose your job, but I sure hope you will snap the other position.

    Take Care and Have Fun!

  3. Happy birthday to you! (& also to my mom today too!) May this year bring you everything you hope for.

  4. Happy Birthday! (You share a birthday with my grandmother)

    I hope this year brings you many good things!

  5. Happy birthday, my friend! I have good feelings about what this year has in store for you, also. Hoping and praying that it brings you healing, health, and happiness.

    You have been a wonderful support for me during this last year, and I want to thank you for that. Despite your own personal upheavals, you’ve managed to hold my hand through all of mine — and I find that both inspirational and humbling.

    You are an amazing lady, and you deserve the very best.

    Hugs,
    Jo

  6. Wishing you a happy birthday! I hope this first year of freedom brings you peace, happiness, and fulfillment!

    (LFCA)

  7. Happy Birthday!! May this year be better than the last. 🙂

  8. Happy Birthday! Enjoy this year and I hope the year is kind to you!

  9. Happy birthday, babe!

    (and this is also a de-luuuuuuuuuurk and an “I’m really sorry about the job”.)

  10. Happy birthday sweetie! Big hugs! (We’re born in the same year! Yay!)

  11. Happy Birthday! Wishing you a great year!

  12. Happy Birthday to you!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. Hippo Birdie 2 Ewe
    Hippo Birdie 2 Ewe
    Hippo Birdie Deer Quiet Dreams
    Hippo Birdie 2 Ewe

    Smooches my dear friend.

  14. Happy Birthday! And isn’t it refreshing that when I read you are 33 my first thought was, “Wow, she’s so young! I had no idea!” My gift to you. 😉

  15. Congratulations on a new, wonderful year. And happy birthday 🙂

  16. Happy Bleated Birthday! May this be but one of many ones that bring you happiness and peace.

    Cheers Lady!

  17. Happy Birthday!!
    I ‘m sure a wonderful year :-).

  18. What a great post! Happy belated birthday to you!!

  19. Oh, crap, I missed your birthday – HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY! Hope this year brings you delicious moments. And cash. Cash is good.

Leave a Reply

