little things

I’ve been in a bit of a funk the last few days.  I don’t know if it’s a symptom or the cause, but I’ve been having Mr. X-plagued dreams the last few nights, the kind of dreams that cast a pall over the following day.  I have had very little energy, have wanted to sleep much more than I need, and have generally been feeling like a bit of a slug.

Until about an hour ago, that is.  I didn’t do much, but I did make it out to exercise a bit (intentional exercise, that is—walking Miss Famous doesn’t seem to count).  It wasn’t a long session, but I went because my body was begging me for it.  I’ve been feeling achy and old and I needed that oomph that exercise can give.

As I was driving away from the gym, I felt like the cobwebs had been shaken out.  Funny what just 20 minutes on the elliptical and a few minutes stretching can do.  I also noticed the light.  Believe it or not, the sun is staying with us more and more every day.  Just a few weeks ago, it was dark at the time I was noticing a bright blue sky today.  Spring is coming.

It doesn’t take a whole lot, I guess, to turn a corner.  I don’t have to train for a marathon, I just need to move a bit.  I don’t need to be back in full-fledged summer, I just need to notice a bit more sunlight on a winter’s day.  Too often I fool myself into thinking that it’s all or nothing, that if I don’t do something “all the way” I might as well not do it at all.  I start thinking that if things aren’t 100%, they don’t count.  But they do.

The little things add up, don’t they?

4 responses to “little things

  1. Sometimes, the little things are all we have to cling to.

    Thank you again for being “my” light in the middle of winter.

    Hugs to you.

    Jo

  2. Nopes…a little break does the trick…that hard black surface need to crack to let the goodness permeate in.

    Miss Famous is such a strong positive influence on you….

  3. Little things do add up. I noticed last week too that it was a little bit light a little bit longer. That gets me feeling better. Plus it’s foggy in the winter here a lot but we’ve had some nice clearing and I try to either get out in the sun or sit in a sunny window for a bit when it’s sunny. That helps too. The exercise part is still a work in progress.

  4. When I was recovering from my own divorce, my sister would say to me, “The sun will rise tomorrow…” and it always did.

    Sunlight and exercise are a great combination. Even when I don’t feel like exercising, a little bit usually helps me to feel a lot better.

    Yes…little things do add up!

Leave a Reply

