well, THAT was a disappointment (updated)

The therapist I tried out today was not a good fit.  She seemed like a nice enough person, but didn’t really seem to “get” me: she asked mostly the wrong questions, needed a lot of clarification (more than I’ve had to give ANYBODY when telling my story), and she wasn’t very warm.  Basically, there was no chemistry.  It felt hard to have a conversation with her, and not in the “it’s therapy and you talk about difficult stuff” way, more in the “what do I say next?” way.

Onward and upward.  I’ll be trying therapists that come with recommendations now.  Good thing I know several people in therapy, huh?

.

.

UPDATE:  I just got a call about that other job and I have an interview next Tuesday, the 19th.

10 responses to “well, THAT was a disappointment (updated)

  1. Sorry the therapist wasn’t a good fit. Hopefully, the next one will be better.

  2. Sorry the therapist was a dud but I’m glad you realized it quickly. And cool about the interview!! Good luck!

  3. You’ll know when you meet the right one – it’s like making a new friend. You can certainly talk to a lot of people, but only a few make you feel at home.

  4. I agree with deathstar44…you will know when you meet the right one, as though the key fits in the lock. 🙂

    Congrats on the job interview!

  5. I’m so sorry the therapist wasn’t a good fit. That chemistry is certainly key in a therapy relationship. Fingers crossed that it doesn’t take too many more tries to find that right fit!
    And congrats and good luck on the job interview!!!

  6. I’m with MeAndBaby in thinking it was wise of you to realize immediately that this isn’t the one for you and to cut your losses.

    I hope that the next one will be ‘right’. Sometimes you have to search for a while which is a little discouraging.

    If you’re interested, email me. There’s a website here in the NW that takes a sample issue and demonstrates how various therapeutic methods approach it. Maybe that will help narrow down the search a little?

    Congratulations on the job interview. Good luck!

  7. I think it’s telling that you are self-aware enough to not only acknowledge that she wasn’t a good fit, but also that you’re unwilling to settle for anyone who isn’t. Makes me totally proud of you.

    Oh, and so excited for you to start your new job (I’m thinking positive, here, and putting it out there. You are going to get this!!!!!!)

    Hugs,
    Jo

  8. This is definitely an area where a good fit is a must! Hope you find a great therapist very soon.

    And congrats on the interview.

  9. Well dang about the therapist appointment but YAY about the job interview.
    Hope you find a therapist that is a better fit.

  10. Good luck with the interview.
    And hope you find a good therapist soon.

Leave a Reply

