show and tell: the sound of her voice

We are taking a break from today’s earlier disappointments to talk about my dog (for a change, right?).  Ahem.

Miss Famous is usually a very quiet dog.  My roommate and roommate/landlady (i.e. my friend who owns this house but doesn’t live here and I give her the rent check) have commented about what a quiet dog she is.

Almost always.

She has been known to bark at dogs passing by as they walk with their owners.  She also does this growly kind of noise, but I’m not convinced it’s totally unfriendly.  Here, you take a gander (I never did figure out what she was looking at, btw):

She’s also very big on whining.  Very big.  Whining is big in the world of La Famosa (oh, and please excuse the mess):

See who else is making some noise over at Mel’s.

29 responses to “show and tell: the sound of her voice

  1. Hihi she sounds like a mini chainsaw !

  2. Lol! That’s awesome! It’s like she’s trying to say, “Hey! Stop! Where are you going? Meanies…” Ah Famosa. Give her a big hug for me!

  3. Sometimes you just have to wonder what they have going through their minds.

    Very cute!

  4. She’s saying, hey, if you wanna get tough, I can get tough – MOVE ALONG YOU! This is my house!

    Then: Please stop filming me and give me a rawhide!

    I gotta get a life, I know.

  5. I love how she can’t quite decide whether to wag her tail or not in the first one. 🙂

  6. It sounds like she is rolling her “r”s! Maybe she’s just trying not to forget her French.

  7. She is adorable. Half the time I can’t figure out what is making my dogs whine or bark. I often wonder what they are seeing and I’m not. 🙂
    ICLW

  8. Oh how cute! When that growly noise starts it sounds almost like a machine.

  9. She’s adorable! I have a ruby Cavalier who does something similar. He has recently started barking at animals on tv though… weird.

    ICLW

  10. Oh, I love her!! My dogs do the exact same thing! One of them is a barker (annnnnnoyying!), but she also does that growly thing. The other is quiet as can be but does the whiney thing. I think it’s amazing how dogs express themselves.

    She seems like such a sweetheart.

  11. Happy ICLW. I love whiney pets.

  12. I am not an animal lover but your dog IS super cute!

  13. Enough camera already mom. Where is my bone?

  14. P.S. from ICLW (pushed that button too soon) 🙂

  15. If I only I could see the thought bubbles over the heads of dogs… LOL

    My Bassets absolutely LOVE to whine. I don’t know why, but they are very vocal. Luckilly, they don’t often bark. But when they do, you sure know it!

    Your dog is absolutely adorable! I love big fluffy tails like that. =) Part Chow?

    Happy ICLW!!!

  16. How cute!!!!!

    Happy ICLW 🙂

  17. OMG I love her!!

  18. Haha, I’m farmiliar with that gravelly noise- my Pittie makes it at my Boxer all the time. She’ll do things like, I dunno, stepping on his head- and he won’t growl, but he’ll ‘complain’. I figure it’s the puppy equivalent of “Moo-ooommm, make them stooopppp!”

    ICLW

  19. Here from ICLW. He’s so cute!! I love dogs and their little quirks. They make me laugh!

  20. Dogs are the BEST!

    Very cute!

  21. Cute doggy! And still quieter than my little dachshund corgi, who barks her head off at everything, and does a great job of sounding like a big dog even though she is tiny. Well, at least she should scare off burglars, right? Yay dogs 🙂

  22. Here from ICLW.

    I’m a big dog lover, having two of my own, all breeds, all sizes, yours is adorable.

    Rach
    http://www.thegalwho.wordpress.com

  23. OMG she is too cute!!! Here from ICLW, and I just have to tell you how amazing your story is and how happy I am for you that you got out of your HORRIBLE situation WITH Miss Famous!

  24. Awww I big fluffy ❤ Miss Famous !

  25. How cute. She kind of reminds me of Sadie. Sadie would never bark at people, just other dogs and if there was something she wanted really bad or something that puzzled her she would do this whiny humming thing. It was always like she was talking back to me.

  26. It’s like a long “heeeeeeeeeeeeeey. Heeeeeeeeeey. What are you doing? Heeeeeeey!” Not insistent, just on notice that she sees you… So cute. Ah, it makes me miss having a dog!

  27. My non-barking dog decided to bark at your growly dog, but her tail was wagging. 🙂

  28. I am now totally in love with your dog. WHEN you come to Chicago, I expect you will bring her.

    The barking? My first thought was translation: SQUIRREL! And the growling? I agree, not entirely unfriendly, kinda like, “Hey? Where did the squirrel go?”

    She really is cute.

Leave a Reply

