april iclw: make yourself at home

True story:  I married a crazy person, but didn’t really realize it until last spring.  At the end of March ’09 Miss Famous and I got the heck out so that I could get far away from his emotionally abusive ways and stayed with my parents for a few months.  In September, Her Famousness and I moved to a city about an hour away from my parents and I started a new job.  My divorce from the crazy Mr. X was finalized in December and this month I started a divorce recovery class/support group.   Miss Famous and I are still getting used to living in our new city, mainly because I became a bit of a hermit after we moved here, so the place I know best is my own house, but I am starting to feel inklings of wanting more social in my life.  I just found out last weekend that X is getting married in June, and also that his “official” relationship with Version 2.o started a lot sooner than I had thought (they moved across the country together in July and were shacked up from that point on), so I’m kind of dealing with that at the moment.

All in all, I’m making progress, slow though it may be.  I love the ALI community, as I became acquainted with the infertility beast back when I was married and discovered what an amazing group of people make up that corner of the blogosphere.  Blogging has definitely been therapy for me, mostly because of the fabulous people I’ve met here in cyberland.

Here’s a picture of Miss Famous, looking pretty cute, if I do say so myself:

24 responses to “april iclw: make yourself at home

  1. hey happy iclw. your blog is not new to me but good to see u on the list for this month. your baby girl is beautiful!

  2. Your little dog is adorable!! Glad to see your on a good path! Happy ICLW!

  3. Your pup is adorable! Good luck in the new city!

    ICLW

  4. Happy ICLW!!!! You’re new to me! I’m excited! Nice to meet you—give the pup some extra love from me!

    #27

  5. Miss Famous is one adorable dog. What a whirlwind story! I hope things are calming down for you somewhat and you’re finding some peace. Best of luck in this new stage in your life- new city, new job, new outlook on it all.
    ~Miriam (ICLW #3)

  6. Happy ICLW…

    I miss checking in with you on a regular basis now that Show and Tell has ended. Hope that all is well! Miss Famous is adorable!

  7. Miss Famous is beautiful!!!!

    Happy ICLW!!! Sounds like you’ve made some really beneficial steps in your life!!!! Congrats for having the strength to do so!

  8. Happy ICLW!

    So glad you were able to make a fresh start. Although circumstances weren’t a good reason you had to move, hopefully you will find your new city exciting and with wonderful opportunities! 🙂

  9. Well, you caught me when you had “my cute dog” as one of your three ICLW words, and sure enough, she’s really cute! Love her sweet face.

    Wishing you all the best in the new city and recovering from what sounds like a horrible couple of years. I’m so glad you have your precious girl to help get you through!!

  10. Aw she’s totally cute! Congrats to you for getting out and moving forward, it takes a lot of inner strength and confidence to do that. *hugs*

    ICLW #119

    http://lovelyladybump.blogspot.com/

  11. wow it sounds like quite an emotional journey that you have been on. I hope that you continue to find peace and growth in this new stage of your life. Miss Famous is adorable btw 🙂

  12. Happy ICLW!

    First, Miss Famous is gorgeous and adorable, and totally worthy of her name.

    Amazing story, and glad you got away from Mr. X. Good luck in repairing that heart of yours 🙂

  13. What an adorable pup! I, too, have a love affair with my dog, Lux. My husband frequently accuses me of loving her more! I’m glad I found you and look forward to reading about your adventures in your new city.

  14. I haven’t made it by here in quiet a while and I’ve really missed visiting! I see Miss Famous is just as cute as ever! Hope you’re doing well!

  15. We moved to a new town nearly a yr ago and I too find my home to be the place I know. I am not a get out there and meet people person and never have been but now I am a sahm sometimes I feel I need the company. I am from Australia and this town was wiped out through bushfires last yr and ours was one of 12 homes to survive out of 500 so it’s only just starting to be rebuilt. So you could probably imagine how lonely it does get.

    I really wish you the best of luck for your new life..you’ll get there when you feel ready.

    ICLW visitor but would like to stick around.

  16. can i ask a question? besides that one.
    do you find any benefits to participating in a support group … you state that you joined up with a group for support and i am wondering how that is going. i hooked up with one for emotional/sexual abuse survivors and maybe it wasn’t the right group of people for me or maybe the group leader sucked [and boy did she ever], but was wondering what you thought of your support group and do you get anything out of it.
    thanks.

  17. Aw, Miss Famous is gorgeous 🙂

    Good luck in the new city, I hope you can get out there and start taking back your life very soon! (((Hugs)))

    ICLW

  18. Beautiful dog. That’s a lot you’re dealing with and I’m sorry for that. As far as he is concerned though, try not to miss or grieve. Move on and start your own, SAFE, PEACEFUL life! (((More hugs)))

  19. Miss Famous iss just GORGEOUS! She looks like she has such soft ears. The the better for petting. 🙂

  20. Miss Famous is sure one adorable dog! Happy ICLW!

  21. Love the pic :-).

  22. Great intro and great pic!

  23. I’m so sorry about all you’ve been through–both infertility and divorce. What a journey. I’m glad to hear you’re in a more stable place now.

Leave a Reply

