ICLW May: where has the time gone?

It seems like just a couple of days ago I was getting a post together for ICLW April.

And it seems like just a couple of days before that I was missing out on all the ICLWness in March.

But here we are, already the waning days of May.  Now I’ve become one of those people who talk about how fast time seems to be flying by.  🙂 Welcome to my little corner of the blogosphere.

Mr. X and I went through a bit of the infertility maze, back before I realized our “stuff” was more than the usual, and was verbal/emotional abuse.  I speak the IF language, even if I’m not in the thick of it right now.

My homework assignment last week for my divorce recovery class was to make a list of 20 things I like about myself.  It was a bit like pulling teeth, I must say.

Things I like about me:

  1. I speak Spanish.
  2. My sense of humor.
  3. It’s usually pretty easy for me to talk to just about anyone.
  4. I have little problem talking in front of people/large groups.
  5. I have seen a lot of places in the world.
  6. I’m good with kids.
  7. I’m a good aunt.
  8. I can be a lot of fun.
  9. I see the deeper meaning in things.
  10. I can usually find something to like about people.
  11. I’m dependable.
  12. I’m usually on time.
  13. I’m good at organizing.
  14. I know a lot about Judaism (my chosen religion).
  15. I have a strong desire for social justice.
  16. I’m different and continuing to change from the person I was growing up.
  17. I’m a good dog owner.
  18. I love to read.
  19. I’m a good writer.
  20. I care about people.

And one last thing…I have the cutest dog ever:

Oh, and one last last thing…I also have a pretty cute nephew (and the dog is patient):

So that’s a bit about me…what do you like about you?

30 responses to “ICLW May: where has the time gone?

  1. I can think of a lot of other things you should like about yourself.
    *You are smart.
    *You are an incredibly strong woman.
    *You are resilient.
    *You are a good friend.
    *You are beautiful…inside and out.

    As for some of the things I like about myself…
    *I’m smart.
    *I’m loyal.
    *I love my hair.
    *I have a great sense of humor.
    *I’m very creative.
    *I can create beautiful things.

    Thanks for being my friend.

  2. things i like about YOU to be added to your list:
    — you write this wonderful blog
    — you have a gorgeous soul

    me? i guess i like that :

    — i am a published writer
    — i have two amazing kids
    — i have ‘weeded the garden’ if you will, and now i have some really good friends
    — i make people laugh
    — i try really hard to do the right thing & to be a good person, despite all of the abuse that has been around me for much of my life
    — i am taking therapy seriously now

  3. Great to get to know you and your lovely dog!

    As for me, I am a firm but loving owner of 2 cavalier king charles spaniels and 2 ‘SPCA-special’ cats.

    Happy ICLW!!!

  4. Aww! Miss Doggie is very cute!

    Good list!! I’m sure you can add more though!!

    Things I like about myself:
    I’m fun
    I’m sincere
    I’m a darn good massage therapist!

  5. Love your dog! So sweet.
    As a divorce survive myself, I can say ((hugs)). It is a tough thing to recover from.

    What I like about me. Hmm? You are right that is hard.
    – My ability to just pick myself back up.
    – My ability to pretend I know what I’m talking about even if I don’t have a clue.
    – My eyes.
    ICLW

  6. One big thing I love about you: you are authentic. That may sound small, but to me it’s HUGE. Really, it’s all there is.

    Hmmmm….about me….I am able to embrace.

  7. That is a great list. You really do have the cutes puppy!

    Happy ICLW!(#64)

  8. hollytraveling

    Stopping by from ICLW.

    I too can speak easily in front of large groups. I’m also very empathetic, which I think is really good, though sometimes it gets me into trouble. Also, I care a lot about my family and their well being. My friends say I’m a pushover and do too much, but it makes me happy.

    I like your list. They’re lovely qualities.

  9. Oh how I wish I spoke spanish. You do have a pretty cute dog.

  10. Your dog is sooo cute ! I love your list. I think it’s important to think about what we like about ourselves and what we are good at.

    What I like about me…
    -I’m organized
    -I learn things quickly
    -I have nice shoulders
    -I am focused
    -I have energy
    -I have nice feet
    -I’m bilingual
    I could go on but it’s enough.

  11. Oh you’re right your dog is cute!!

    As for what I like about me? Not alot right now but I’m slowly working on changing that….

    Happy ICLW!!
    #40 http://thegalwho.wordpress.com/

  12. Lovely dog!!

    I like my versatility and perseverance.

    ICLW

  13. This is a great exercise … I wonder how many of us have trouble coming up with 20? I can add one for you: you give a voice not just to yourself, but to so many other people who cannot yet speak.

    Happy ICLW! (#149)

  14. Happy ICLW!

    What a great exercise! I think you did a great job on it. I hope you add even more things your list as they come to you.

    Something I like about myself is that I am not afraid to do what needs to be done, no matter what it is. Well, no matter unless it is dealing with spiders! 🙂

  15. You know, even my students find it easier to list their weaknesses rather than their strengths. I am very proud of you that you were able to identify your good points.

    You are correct…Miss Famous is very cute, and I love her patience in letting your nephew ‘hide’ her and all!

  16. I love your list. And I think Miss Famous is quite adorable.

    Things I love about me:

    – I have a fun sense of humor
    – I’ve learned to be more open and willing to try new things

  17. I think this is awesome!! I like my life, my patience, my hubby (sometimes), and my creativity! Happy ICLW!!! (#94)

  18. What a great list and a great way to introduct yourself for ICLW! Also, your dog and nephew are darling!

    ICLW

  19. Things I like about myself…

    I have pink toenails
    I have a sweet puppy and kitty
    I am smart
    and despite my hyst I am an awesome woman!

    Nice to meet you!

  20. I love it when people list things they like about themselves. It’s such a bash-myself culture these days (probably because it’s such a bash-others culture these days, we’ve just learned to do it to ourselves instead). But especially when we’re really going through IT – whatever our personal IT might be – it’s important to realize that we have just as much a place on the earth as anybody else and just as much a right to draw breath! We are ALL special and we ALL enjoy peace and joy.

    Best to you!

  21. Happy ICLW! I love your list. I am so #11-13. And totally hear you on #15. Your dog is so cute. I think I need one…

  22. The Barreness

    I think I envy you your #3 the most – I’d love to feel confident enough to speak to anyone about anything! Perhaps that’s why I like blogging so much – the voice without the publicity… Love the doggy too! Happy ICLW!

  23. Happy ICLW! You have a very cute dog. We’ve gotta love our puppies 🙂

  24. Love your dog… VERY cute!
    ICLW #137

  25. Currently, I like my toes. I used to not, but now I do.

    The dog is awesome! As well as the nephew!

    Happy ICLW!
    #5

  26. I find it hard to write good things about myself, too. Love your dog and nephew!

    Happy ICLW.

  27. Kick-ass list! Hmm. What do I like about myself? I like my b00bs!! LOL! I’m glad I found your blog.

    Happy ICLW!

    ICLW #7
    http://ambivalentwomb.blogspot.com/

  28. (ICLW) i’m big on social justice too. thanks for sharing. you’re a strong woman and a great encouragement to many.

    Jos

  29. I can see how this would have been a difficult task! I’m glad you completed it and there are a lot of really interesting and not just “generic” things on there, so you clearly put a lot of thought into it. I always love the pics of your pretty pup.

  30. I like those 20 things about you too. I also like that you are self-aware.

    I often ask my clients to complete a list of of 10 things they are, which is also very revealing: So, if you care to give it a try, take a piece of paper and write “I am” at the top. then make 10 lines below and fill them in. Because it’s so simply written, it’s actually quite difficult for a lot of people to define themselves. Let me know how it went. lisa@yourgreatlife.co.uk

    Lisa ICLW 77 yourgreatlife

Leave a Reply

