perfect moment monday: one year later

I’ve been thinking a lot in the past week or so about this time one year ago.  It was just about this time that I started going really crazy living at my parents’ house and starting to feel like I needed to get out of there now.

One year ago I was in the throes of divorce details, worried about my house selling (which eventually went into foreclosure), and was basically swimming in a sea of angst about Mr. X.

One year ago I was jobless, had very little money in the bank, was living with mom and dad, and was having a very difficult time imagining a better future.

Today…today is amazing.  Today I have a good job in a great city, I no longer have to depend on my parents’ help for my basic needs, and I have a great place to live.  The best thing, however, is the change within myself.  I noticed this weekend, at the second of two get-togethers with some dear friends and several of their friends (who have brought me into the circle without question) that I had a sense of belonging and peace that was quite foreign to me a year ago.  Today I don’t feel like the “pause” button is set on my life anymore.  Last night I laughed with friends, enjoyed food, and was happy.

Pretty darn perfect.

Read about some more perfect moments over at Lavender Luz’s.

13 responses to “perfect moment monday: one year later

  1. That certainly counts as a perfect moment! Good for you!

  2. I can’t even begin to tell you how happy this post makes me. Way to go hon!

  3. You sound terrific. What a great post. Absolutely perfect, indeed! 🙂

  4. Yay, you! It doesn’t matter if you work it from the outside in or the inside out, or both. You have done an amazing job of following your inner knowing and it shows in your contentment.

    Wow. This is so great!

  5. What a great post! So happy for you. : )

  6. I smiled as I read your post. It sounds like you have come a long way…both inside and out.

    Congratulations!

  7. That is fabulous! I can’t think of anything more perfect than reflecting back on where you were before, and seeing you are in a better place. It’s a beautiful feeling, I hope you continue to enjoy it!!

    Ziggy (visiting via Weebles Wobblog)

  8. Sounds fabulous. I’m so happy for you.

  9. You know, I haven’t checked in on you in a while–and seeing this post just made my day! So glad to see you doing well and feeling at peace with yourself.

  10. I am SO happy for you, hon! I knew you would get to this place and it’s SO much more awesome then I thought it would be! Congrats, my dear friend!
    *HUGS*

  11. I am soooo happy for you! I remember a year ago too! You were in such a bad place, and it is simply amazing to see how far you have come!!!
    ((BIG HUG))

  12. Thats the awesome thing about life, if you just keep on living it things are bound to change and there are always surprises around every corner! I am glad to read you have come so far. I know after my divorce I felt like my life was just over, and indeed THAT life was, but the one that was just beginning has turned out to be more amazing than anything I could have dreamed.

    Visiting from ICLW 🙂

  13. How nice! Perfect!

Leave a Reply

