on the eve of the new year

Today things are so much different than they were a year ago, and so many things are the same as they have ever been.

The last few days I have been having some, um, feelings.  Sisterly drama continues, but she has not been the source of said feelings.  Her, I can understand.  I am concerned, I am worried, but I have learned to temper my expectations.  Bipolar is something I can wrap my head around, even if I hate it.  I want things to be different for her, but I can accept that they are not.

For some reason, I have a much harder time finding that level of acceptance for my parents.  I keep expecting them to respond differently than they always have.

Over the last few days I’ve been unbelievably sleepy and haven’t been able to understand it.  I couldn’t seem to get enough sleep.  All I could think about was napping.

Last night I felt the anger flow through me.  I didn’t push it down.  I didn’t try to talk myself out of it.  I didn’t call it wrong and I didn’t turn it against myself.

And today I’m awake.

Today my mind is clear and I feel ready to take on the High Holidays (more on that later).

One response to “on the eve of the new year

  1. Good for you! That is serious progress.

Leave a Reply

