perfect moment monday: 2-in-1

The first perfect moment:  How do you prepare to meet someone who has already read your diary?

There’s no preparing, really, for meeting Lori, aka Lavender Luz, of Weebles Wobblog fame.  She’s lovely, as easy to talk with in either small talk or soul-baring conversations, and I wish she lived here.

We’d exchanged some emails, she knew I lived in the live-music capitol of the world, and so when she was planning a work trip here, she asked if I’d be up for getting together.  If you ever have the same opportunity take it.  It’s kind of like meeting a rock star, albeit a very un-diva-like rock star who blogs.  And likes mojitos in the middle of the afternoon. 😉

The perfect part was when we said goodbye, it felt like the beginning of our IRL friendship, rather than the end of the evening.

(And if you don’t read her blog, you really should remedy that ASAP.)

The second perfect moment:  I’ve finally been feeling ready to start connecting with more people to let more people in.  The trick is how and getting started.

I won’t bore you with a list of the things I’ve been considering.  The moment is last night I received a call from the facilitator of my divorce recovery group, asking me if I would be one of the four volunteer facilitators for the group starting Tuesday.  I talked it over with my closest friend from the class, who is also volunteering, and I decided that, yes, I am ready to do this.  Six or even three months ago I wouldn’t have thought that I’d be ready to do this now, though it was something I might want to do “in the future.”  I suppose the future is now.  It is so amazing to see visible progress in myself.

You can read about other perfect moments here.

8 responses to “perfect moment monday: 2-in-1

  1. I am so happy for you and I am just a little jealous that you got to hang out with Lori.

  2. Awww….you just made me cry. Again!

    “the beginning of our IRL friendship, rather than the end of the evening.” What a perfect way to put it — I feel the same, my dear bloggy and RL friend.

    I so admire all the inner work you’ve been doing, and doing so well. The time does seem right for you to shine your light outward again.

    Loved, LOVED our evening together. Where shall we share our next one?

    XO

  3. Two absolutely great perfect moments. I just asked Lori if she ever wanted a house guest. Best of luck with the support group. I hope it furthers your healing.

  4. I’m visiting from Weebles Wobblog to check out your Perfect Moment!

    Having known Luz my entire life, I can attest to all of the wonderful things you said about her. She is quite wonderful (no sisterly bias here… 🙂

    I’m glad you got to meet her…and awesome on your divorce recovery opportunity. Just think how you’ll be able to help others… Woo Hoo!

    Thanks for sharing your Perfect Moments!

  5. I got to meet Lori a couple of years ago (and several others too) and it was so much fun. She’s such a sweet person.
    That’s great about helping out with the upcoming divorce group.

  6. Yay! I’m so happy that your life is moving in the right direction!! And that you go to meet Lori!!!

  7. That is so fantastic! I’m so happy that you two got to meet each other and had such a wonderful time.

    I am also so glad you decided to volunteer! I think that’s a huge and great step for you! So proud of you!
    *HUGS*

  8. I am jealous you got to meet Lori! And I think it’s great that you are going to be a faciliatator. From your blogging, I can tell you will have lots of insight to offer your group members!

    Dh & I facilitated our pregnancy loss support group for 10 years — we just stepped down last Christmas. It’s one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done and we met so many great people through the group.

Leave a Reply

