in brief

I’ve been fighting off a cold (and mostly losing) the last few days.  I’d bet money that I caught it in the hospital last Friday while I was waiting, waiting, waiting before, during, and after my mom’s surgery.  She had her foot fixed, and now hopefully she won’t limp around all the time.

While I was there with her, and in the couple of days after, at her house, I could see as clear as day where my hesitance to ask for or accept help comes from.  Even the day of the surgery, she was apologetic and (I could tell) feeling guilty.  Sound like anyone you know? (hint: she writes this blog)

The good part of the weekend was all about my niece.  I got to see her play volleyball (she sure doesn’t get her unbelievable athletic ability from me, thank goodness) and watch a bunch of silly TV with her.  She is more and more amazing every time I’m around her.  I can’t help but wish and wonder how it would be if she were mine full time, and not just every-once-in-a-while.

7 responses to “in brief

  1. Isn’t it great to be an aunt?

    I love the way you are looking at patterns and choosing consciously which ones work for you and which ones don’t. It’s inspiring to me.

  2. It’s surprising to discover where certain habits come from – it’s not as obvious as you would expect.

    I hope your cold clears up soon.

  3. I really hope you feel better soon hon.

    Isn’t it kind of eerie to see a parent’s personality quirks show up in us?

  4. Well, I hope your mother heals well and is permanently cured of the limp.

    Well, we can aachoooo together…I am getting over it right about now!

    You can still be a mother figure to your niece, and it would be an incredible support for her. I am glad you two get along so well.

  5. Ah, I hate getting colds – it’s so infuriating. So now that you don’t have a roommate – maybe your niece can have a sleepover with you!

  6. i hope you fight off the cold!!! I’m glad you have your niece!

  7. I hope you are feeling better. Yes you probably got it at the hospital. They are nasty dirty places. Trust me I work in them.
    Glad you had a good time with your niece.
    I also have to say that it amazes me sometimes how you describe personality traits you struggle with and how much those traits sound like things I struggle with too. It helps me gain insight into myself too.

Leave a Reply

