2011

Back around Rosh Hashanah (Jewish new year), I started a post about new years and new beginnings.  I never finished that post, but tonight I fished it out of the “drafts” folder.  I had already attempted two different posts this evening but neither took, and this one seemed appropriate for the season.  Ahem.

I started this post, way back when, in response, of sorts, to Mel’s post about Rosh Hashanah, in particular to how she tends to get overwhelmed by the starting over.  (Go ahead, read it, it’s likely much better than what this one will turn out to be.)  I thought about how I tend to get overwhelmed by the thought of all of the missed opportunities in the last year, all of the ways I didn’t do everything the way my neuroses would have be think it all should be done.  Of course, what I’m learning these days (and yes, I think I’m really learning it finally) is that there is no perfect, there’s just life in all its messiness.

There are, also, endless opportunities to start again.  We bring the past with us, but we are given so many chances to turn the page.  New Year’s day, every new season, new semesters, birthdays, anniversaries of significant events, every new week, new month, new day, new hour.

Last year I wrote:

It will be amazing to see where I am a year from now.  It will be incredible to see the positive changes that this next year will usher in.

Bring it on.

Indeed.

5 responses to “2011

  1. Happy New Year, my friend. It is indeed amazing and inspiring to see how far you have come. Here’s to 2011 bringing you even closer to those dreams.

    Big hugs,
    Jo

  2. Happy New Year sweetie! I have been awed and amazed as I’ve watched your journey. You have become such a strong, independent woman and I know you are going to continue to grow and thrive. I hope and pray this year is full of blessings for you.

  3. Maybe, just maybe I should turnover my unfinished posts to you as well!

    Happy New Year, QuietDreams! Many possibilites ahead!:-)

  4. Great post. So true that there are many opportunities for new starts.

  5. I hate the idea of new years resolutions, but I love the idea of starting over. Of having a fresh start. But they are going to be called “goals”
    this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

